PDA

View Full Version : Any appreciable difference in stock triggers?

sdcromer
12-01-08, 22:24
I want to buy a standard single stage trigger for one of my lowers and was wondering if there is any significant difference between one brand and another.

Any opinions here?

sdcromer
12-05-08, 20:06
Guess not. :rolleyes:

Damascus
12-06-08, 01:39
I'm no trigger expert - but yes there are significant differences in brands. From what I have read here, people prefer Geiselle triggers, which are pricey.
Most of my experience has been with Timney and Jewell brand triggers (Timney on AR's) and I can vouch that both brands make outstanding products.
A lot of people here also recommend the RRA National Match triggers, with the WOA tuning.
What's the intended purpose for said rifle, and what pull-weight are you thinking of getting? Adjustable or a fixed setup?

sdcromer
12-06-08, 10:33
This my SHTF carbine and now it has a RRA 2 stage trigger, but after reading the advice of Pat Rogers and others I feel that KISS is better for this particular set up. I've felt standard triggers that are long an gritty and others that are not so I'm trying to see if one manufacturer is more likely to not be gritty.

jht3
12-06-08, 10:58
I'm no trigger expert - but yes there are significant differences in brands. From what I have read here, people prefer Geiselle triggers, which are pricey.
Most of my experience has been with Timney and Jewell brand triggers (Timney on AR's) and I can vouch that both brands make outstanding products.
A lot of people here also recommend the RRA National Match triggers, with the WOA tuning.
What's the intended purpose for said rifle, and what pull-weight are you thinking of getting? Adjustable or a fixed setup?

he asked about stock single stage and you are talking about drop-in $$$ triggers

beyond that, i have nothing to contribute. my experience is very limited compared to others here. i wouldn't say my unknown parts kit (dmps maybe) is gritty though

Broadway