PDA

View Full Version : Need some good advice about Ammo selection for .223/5.56 16" Carbines

Will M&P15
12-02-08, 18:08
I am kinda new to this AR 15 Patrol Rifle Stuff my agency along with some of the other LEO's Purchased S&W M&P 15 Rifles with the 16" Bbl and 6 posistion stocks. I am looking at selecting ammunition for both training and duty use. Since I am involved in the Firearms training Program for handguns and shotguns I was asked to look at what ammo to purchase and try out. Does anyone have any suggestions as to what would be best for an all around patrol /tactical duty round and a fmj round for training that would duplicate its performance. I know some brands have to better than others and I dont want to spend 4 mos gathering and shooting 30 types of ammo. The smith M&P 15's have a 1/9 twist ..? What options do I have as far as to the grain of bullets I can use with good results...?

thanks for any advice you offer from what you guys have tried.

czydj
12-02-08, 19:20
Look at what DocGKR has to say here.

http://www.tacticalforums.com/cgi-bin/tacticalubb/ultimatebb.cgi?ubb=get_topic;f=78;t=000440

Yes, the site is worth joining to read it!

markm
12-03-08, 07:25
The XM193 ammo from Federal and the Q3131 ammo from Winchester seem to be the round that would fit your requirements.

I've read a few guys replies here that indicate that Q3131 is their department's load.

TOrrock
12-03-08, 07:31
Doc has his own forum here as well.

https://www.m4carbine.net/forumdisplay.php?f=91

docholliday
12-03-08, 15:57
Hornady Tap ammo might be an option. I handload Hornady 68gr bthp for my 1/8 twist Rock River and they shoot great

Will M&P15
12-03-08, 20:54
The thing that has me puxzzled is that I have read where the heavier grain bullets dont shoot well out of the 1/9 twist rifles...? I not sure how much you can gou up in weight and still get good performance.

czydj
12-04-08, 04:28
Doc has his own forum here as well.

https://www.m4carbine.net/forumdisplay.php?f=91