PDA

View Full Version : Let’s talk thermal scopes

Eurodriver
01-24-21, 18:04
These seem to really be picking up in popularity and options. It used to be FLIR (no longer selling weapon optics to civilians and non-LE) and ATN (ew)

Now there is Trijicon (IR Defense) and NOX. NOX is new. Like they started shipping a few weeks ago new.

What’s the 2021 consensus on a quality thermal scope?

lahunter57
01-24-21, 19:45
The big names now are pulsar, nvision (which makes the NOX), trijicon, and i suppose you could add iRay since they will be releasing their weapon mounted optics soon.

What’s your intended use? Are you looking for weapon mounted or scanner/head mounted?

Oops, just saw you said “scope”. I think N-Vision and Trijicon provide what most believe to be the most robust and reliable optics. Pulsar and iRay are more budget friendly in some respects, but may not be as durable as other optics. I have no experience with Pulsar optics but I have been really impressed with the image from my iRay MH25. I run it on a KAC bridge with a WP PVS-14 and its wicked awesome when searching for critters.

I would strongly recommend you look into getting a thermal scanner before a weapon mounted optic. Scanning with your rifle will get old quick. .

Eurodriver
01-24-21, 19:51
The big names now are pulsar, nvision (which makes the NOX), trijicon, and i suppose you could add iRay since they will be releasing their weapon mounted optics soon.

What’s your intended use? Are you looking for weapon mounted or scanner/head mounted?

Weapon mounted. Hunting deer, pigs, coyotes and general screwing around.

I’d never heard of Nvision until like 2 weeks ago. Are they a decent brand? $6000+ is a lot of coin to try on a company with no street rep.

Trijicon has been used to kill Hajis for over 2 decades.

lahunter57
01-24-21, 20:00
See my above edited post*