PDA

View Full Version : What are the most common failure modes of the AR15?

atn729
01-24-21, 22:28
I'm looking into what spare parts to buy to future proof my current set ups.

What are the most common failure modes in an AR15? What spare parts is one most likely to need? What is the best source for these parts?

Right now I'm not very experienced with rifle failure as I've only done 2 classes and my most used rifle only has 5k through it.

MC_Oper8or
01-25-21, 01:20
Bolts. Bolt parts. Barrels. One of every spring and detent at least.

Find then wherever you can at this point. Primary Arms is my go to.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

titsonritz
01-25-21, 01:22
Focus on the bolt/BCG, that is most of the heavy lifting is done, get gas rings, extractor, spring & insert, firing pin, FP retaining pin, cam pin, ejector, extra bolt or two if possible. Beyond that, spring and detents. And barrels.

ETA: My go to place for parts would be Primary Arms, BCM and Forward Controls.

vicious_cb
01-25-21, 02:11
I'm looking into what spare parts to buy to future proof my current set ups.

What are the most common failure modes in an AR15? What spare parts is one most likely to need? What is the best source for these parts?

Right now I'm not very experienced with rifle failure as I've only done 2 classes and my most used rifle only has 5k through it.

User error...

01-25-21, 08:21
I keep enough parts to build up another set of receivers.

Extra gas rings, extractor w/spring and insert, firing pin, firing pin retaining pins, bolt, buffer springs, and hammer springs.

MikhailBarracuda91
01-25-21, 08:38
Nobody mentioned gas tube yet.

Sent from my SM-G970U using Tapatalk

Clint
01-25-21, 08:46
The most common stoppage inducing item is the magazine.

PMAGs are the most reliable, so stock up on those.

The easiest way to get a bunch of spare parts is to pick up a complete BCG.

Joe Mamma
01-25-21, 08:49