PDA

View Full Version : Holy shiite Batman.....jet engine falls apart over Denver

ABNAK
02-20-21, 17:37
https://www.foxnews.com/us/plane-experiences-engine-trouble-and-drops-debris-over-colorado-lands-safely-at-dia

Big-azz pieces, is that called the engine cowling? Watch the video of the engine someone took from onboard the aircraft and the video someone took from the ground of the debris falling.

I think I'd need a change of underwear if I was on that plane!

veeref
02-20-21, 17:56
Yeah, that uncontained engine failure would suck. Thank goodness no one in the air on on the ground got hurt.

What’s crazy was the hot section kept going. You could see it still igniting/burning.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

ABNAK
02-20-21, 18:08
Yeah, that uncontained engine failure would suck. Thank goodness no one in the air on on the ground got hurt.

What’s crazy was the hot section kept going. You could see it still igniting/burning.

I'm not an aviation expert, so was the glowing orange area on the engine supposed to be like that? Obviously the outer covering was gone, but is that where a jet engine should be firing?

Good it didn't totally fall off the plane and take a chunk of wing with it, thereby rendering it unflyable.

Also, can't they shut off fuel supply to that engine to help prevent further ignition?

thepatriot2705
02-20-21, 18:32
I'm not an aviation expert, so was the glowing orange area on the engine supposed to be like that? Obviously the outer covering was gone, but is that where a jet engine should be firing?

Good it didn't totally fall off the plane and take a chunk of wing with it, thereby rendering it unflyable.

Also, can't they shut off fuel supply to that engine to help prevent further ignition?

Fuel was no doubt cut. That’s metal on fire.

veeref
02-20-21, 18:40

https://www.britannica.com/technology/high-bypass-turbofan