PDA

View Full Version : Suez Canal Blockage

FromMyColdDeadHand
03-26-21, 08:21
I know it is a big ship, and it seems like Achmed with a back hoe isn't going to cut it. Why not take a page out of the Egyptian attack across by using water jets to erode out material and free the bow? I assume that has a bulb bow and is pretty well stuck in there.

Esq.
03-26-21, 08:53
Yea, they need to get that canal up and running again. Europe needs oil!

utahjeepr
03-26-21, 09:24
I have never dealt with a recovery of that scale, but between a life of four wheeling and a career in construction I have a LOT of experience getting things unstuck. Looks like they are digging out the ends, that is the right move. There is gonna be the weight of the material that was displaced, the drag against that material, and the suction of that saturated material to overcome.

That is a shitload of mass to get moving, add to that the factors I listed above and it can be insurmountable. I have seen a 25 ton excavator buried in the mud so bad that a 300 ton crane couldn't pull it out. We had to dig it out first and then drag it out. I could see jetting water or air along the hull helping, but I think digging is the right answer. The hadji leading the recovery is thinking they'll have the cork out over the weekend.

I don't know how it works in the Suez. Does a pilot come aboard and command the ship all the way through? I've heard wind pushed that big bitch around, and I've heard aggressive maneuvering. I'm guessing someone(s) gonna be sweating it out hard in front of a review panel over this.

pinzgauer
03-26-21, 09:41
I have seen a 25 ton excavator buried in the mud so bad that a 300 ton crane couldn't pull it out. We had to dig it out first and then drag it out.

You just need a yellow XJ and a yellow rope!

just a scout
03-26-21, 09:46
Don’t they have to unload the ship first? That’s like one of the biggest ships in the world and it’s fully loaded with cargo containers.