PDA

View Full Version : Fixing my Stag/RRA/DPMS mistake

Rider79
12-06-08, 21:05
This is my first time posting. I have numerous questions, thanks to Rob's article in Surefire's Combat Tactics.

Here is my AR line-up:
1. LMT Complete Lower with Magpul CTR on mil-spec buffer ext., Stag 2HT upper with Samson free float quad rail
2. RRA Complete Lower (gunsmith assembled with a DPMS LPK, Magpul CTR, MOE grip), Stag 2HT upper
3. RRA Complete rifle, 16" heavy barrel, Troy MRF rail, Magpul CTR, MIAD grip
4. DPMS Panther Lite 16, YHM drop in rail, ergo grip (in process of being sold at profit to update other ARs)
5. DPMS kit gun with M4gery 16" upper, gun is built on a DPMS "K" lower, parts are all of unknown origin, gunsmith who assembled kit has since passed away. Since purchase, I've added a Troy MRF, and CAA stock, MOE grip.

All of the above rifles have Magpul winter trigger guards. All have commercial buffer ext. unless otherwise noted.
Above rifles have no modifications to Bolt carrier groups, unknown as to proper staking or if they have the correct extractor spring.

I also have 3 complete lowers:
1. Gunsmoke Enterprises lower, CAA stock on comm. buffer ext.
I intend to put a .22 upper on this lower for training
2. DPMS lower, MOE stock on mil-spec ext.
3. DPMS lower, M4 type stock on comm. ext.
I intend to put a standard M4gery upper on this lower and put it away for sale after a possible future AWB.
All are gunsmith assembled with DPMS LPKs
All of the above rifles/lowers have standard carbine buffers

The first step I have taken is to order H buffers to replace the carbine buffers, which leads me to my 1st question:
What are the differences between H, H2, and H3 buffers, besides the weight? Am I ok replacing with H buffers or is my money better spent on an H2 or H3? Is there some advantage to the H2 or 3? I looked for this in the forums, and found no real answer.