PDA

View Full Version : 6.5 Swede vs Creedmoor?

utahjeepr
04-11-21, 12:52
I have an old Oviedo Mauser action that has been Bubba'ed up. Rebarreled with a .300 Savage barrel that was then rechambered to .308, it was free...

I've debated building it into .257 Bob or 6.5 Swede. I have very little loading experience, but it seems like 6.5 Swede could be made to at least equal if not surpass 6.5 Creed. I may be stumbling across common knowledge or maybe I'm missing something, but thought I'd ask.

gaijin
04-11-21, 14:01
You’re on track.
Either 6.5 CM or 6.5X55 can handle heavy for caliber bullets that have great BC/SDs.
The nod goes to the Swede for case volume/potential velocity by same bullet weight.
A trainload of Moose in Scandinavia have been taken with the Swede.

I would assume “parts” may be a bit more difficult to source for 6.5X55 than the 6.5 CM.

hi-wayman
04-11-21, 14:09
The 6.5 Swede has about an 11% powder capacity advantage over the 6.5 Creedmoor, but the advantage of the Creedmoor is the design of the neck and the throat which allows it to handle heavier/longer bullets without intruding on the case. The Creedmoor has a faster twist rate to handle the higher BC bullets, but that could be matched easily in a rebarrel like your considering. If you're not needing or wanting to use the heavier bullets (which really strut at longer ranges beyond normal hunting distance) than the the Swede does have a slight edge if loaded to similar pressures.

However, if you don't reload, the 6.5 Creedmoor is going to be more readily available these days. At least, once the market returns to an equilibrium. The Swede does have a nice "cool" aspect to it, but the Creedmoor makes much more sense.

hi-wayman
04-11-21, 14:21
I posted before about the cartridge comparisons. I forgot which action you were using.