PDA

View Full Version : Help me pick my first "real" optic

Bluto
04-13-21, 12:35
So not exactly my first but the first of it’s kind for me…

I’m currently using aimpoint Micro’s on my AR’s and traditional Leupold scopes on my 22’s. That’s about the extent of my scope experiences.

I’m setting up a new AR-10 and am looking at LPVO’s. I really don’t anticipate shooting beyond 400-500 yards.

I have a healthy budget for this. I’m comfortable spending up to $3,000 but don’t want to spend more than necessary.

Since I’m kinda new to this type of shooting and don’t have any method polluting my brain, I’m open to either MRAD or MOA. In either case I prefer first focal plane and I occasionally shoot at dawn/dusk.

I really wanted a thermal scope, but I can’t find anything that works as well in daylight as it does at night. If something like that exists, I would love to hear about it!

So far I’ve narrowed it down to these optics, solely based on reputation, but am certainly open to others:

Vortex RAZOR HD GEN III 1-10X24 FFP ($2,900) - https://vortexoptics.com/riflescopes/vortex-razor-gen-iii-riflescopes/vortex-razor-hd-gen-iii-1-10x24-riflescope.html

Nightforce ATACR 1-8x24 ($2,800) - https://www.nightforceoptics.com/riflescopes/atacr/atacr-1-8x24-f1

Primary Arms PLx 1-8x24mm ($1,500) - https://www.primaryarms.com/pa-plx8-1-8x24mm-first-focal-plane-rifle-scope-illuminated-acss-griffin-mil-reticle

Trijicon Credo 1-8x28 ($1,800) - https://www.trijicon.com/products/details/cr828-c-2900032

There are some significant price differences between the Primary Arms and Trijicon vs the Vortex and Nightforce. Is the quality between these brands significant enough to warrant such an increase? Again, I have the budget, but why spend extra money if its not necessary?

Back to thermal… is there an add-on or attachment to add thermal capabilities to any of these scopes?

Thanks for reading and your feedback/recommendations!

docsherm
04-13-21, 14:24