PDA

View Full Version : ACOG 3x for one size fits all optic?

FLGator
12-08-08, 07:24
I'm new to ARs having picked up a 6920 just before the panic. I'm now looking to outfit with an optic. I plan to start some carbine courses after the new year but I would like an optic good for most purposes, not just CQB. I thought that the 3x would be a good compromise. I would also like to keep the standard front site if possible. Hopefully I can "train through" any problems with the magnified optic. If they ever become available again I hope to pick up a Noveske Recce some time next year and possibly move the 3x ACOG over in favor of a 1.5x on the carbine.
So...
ACOG 3x red chevron. TA33R8.
Talk me out of it.
Thanks.

A few of my reasons for not choosing other optics.
Eotech - short battery life.
Aimpoint - I read an article "Optics in the Sand" on M4 optics function in Iraq. It went over ACOG, Aimpoint, Eotech, and MARS. The author indicated that the Aimpoints he saw seemed to be the worse for wear with adjustment knobs knocked off, etc. Also, the extra moving part of the swing mount to add magnification makes me a little nervous.
Short Dot - Just too damn expensive.

I'm sure I'll get some objections to those arguments but that's what I'm looking for since I don't have first hand experience.

caporider
12-08-08, 10:12
I think you're making a good choice in the TA33 for an all-around optic. It is not as fast as an Aimpoint close in, and it is not as precise as a standard magnified scope at a distance. However, it will get you from 3-300 yards in a very competent manner.