PDA

View Full Version : Graduation/Commissioning Gift Suggestions

FromMyColdDeadHand
05-18-21, 08:25
I have a niece graduating and was just commissioned. Suggestions for a gift? She’s going into artillery, so I was going to send some foamy earplugs along with whatever- or are some foamies and cash the best?

Alex V
05-18-21, 09:02
Hard to say without a budget.

When I graduated college my parents got me a Tag so I can have a big boy watch and I started my career. I find that to be a perfect gift for such an occasion but it may not be within the budget.

chuckman
05-18-21, 09:02
Bear with me: I have a friend who was a recon Marine, he was CO of a recon battalion (now he's CO of some cyber something or other). My neighbor's dad was a WWII Marine aviator, when he died she gave me all of his uniforms, flightsuit, etc., donated most of it to the Naval Aviation Museum in Pensacola. I kept some of the WWWII-era EGA devices and gave him, which he put on his Alphas, he said it was a "generational connection to the past Marines."

I think a nice gift would be something old, artillery-related, something that could tie her to the legacy of Army artillery.

GH41
05-18-21, 10:09
The army will be giving her all of the ear protection she needs so I wouldn't do that. It would be hard to beat a prepaid bank card.

utahjeepr
05-18-21, 11:33
I'm guessing whiskey, hookers, and getting finned is mostly a guy thing? ;)

How about some mini trip for her to relax before she has to knuckle down? Even just a weekend breather to recharge after all her hard work?

FromMyColdDeadHand
05-18-21, 13:35
The army will be giving her all of the ear protection she needs so I wouldn't do that. It would be hard to beat a prepaid bank card.

The ear pro was more of a joke than anything. I have a lot of nieces and nephews, but since she did ROTC and going active duty I thought I'd do something special.

Thanks everyone.

Coal Dragger
05-18-21, 14:23