PDA

View Full Version : New gun safe

HwyKnight
12-11-08, 05:06
Just bought my first gun safe. Any special concerns about storing my guns in it? Should I buy a dehumidifier etc.?

Dave L.
12-11-08, 05:26
Just bought my first gun safe. Any special concerns about storing my guns in it? Should I buy a dehumidifier etc.?

I put guns that have sentimental value in those cheap $5 silicon impregnated gun sacks. This keeps them from being dented and keeps the moisture off them.
I have no experience with dehumidifiers but I'm interested.

thopkins22
12-11-08, 08:56
Go by Walmart and buy one of the refillable "Damp Rid" canisters...it will eventually run out of active ingredient, leaving you with a jar of water...at which point you flush it and refill.

I've seen things in Bass Pro that do the same thing, and cost way more.

Dave L. Have you had good luck avoiding corrosion with the silicone sacks? Any finish issues with it? I have no experience with them...just curious.

Walker Precision
12-11-08, 10:46
Get one of the Goldenrod type dehumidifiers. It will gently heat the inside of the safe to drive out moisture. Your guns will thank you. The silica stuff will need to be "recharged" or replaced on a regular basis. Too much hassle for me. I plug the heater in, and then just check it once in a while to make sure it's still working. I had one die a few years ago.

Gutshot John
12-11-08, 10:55
The silica stuff will need to be "recharged" or replaced on a regular basis. Too much hassle for me.

To "recharge" the silica all you have to do is put the can in an oven for a little bit to evaporate the absorbed moisture per the instructions and you'll be fine.

No hassle really.

HwyKnight
12-11-08, 12:07
my safe does not have a outlet inside, will the cord go through the door gap or will I have to drill a hole in the darn thing?

Walker Precision
12-11-08, 14:39