PDA

View Full Version : What's the consensus on gas tubes that restrict flow?

okie
09-28-21, 20:47
I have a Mk18 that's pretty gassy suppressed. I don't want to put an adjustable on it, and want to change out the carrier even less. I've heard of some gas tubes that have a smaller hole, but I'm not sure where to find them or if they're a good idea or not.

AndyLate
09-28-21, 21:14
I have a Mk18 that's pretty gassy suppressed. I don't want to put an adjustable on it, and want to change out the carrier even less. I've heard of some gas tubes that have a smaller hole, but I'm not sure where to find them or if they're a good idea or not.

You can find them at Black River Tactical. I have not used one of the tubes, so cannot comment on them. I can say I have found BRT products to be uniformly high quality.

Andy

MWAG19919
09-28-21, 21:22
Well I can tell you where to find them, but I have no personal experience with them.

https://blackrivertactical.com/

I actually have the opposite experience with my MK18; it's gassed perfectly for its intended role (5.56 with a suppressor), but with .223 and no suppressor it's pretty anemically gassed.

okie
09-29-21, 02:01
Well I can tell you where to find them, but I have no personal experience with them.

https://blackrivertactical.com/

I actually have the opposite experience with my MK18; it's gassed perfectly for its intended role (5.56 with a suppressor), but with .223 and no suppressor it's pretty anemically gassed.

Mine with no silencer is picky about locking back with .223. It will lock back on lancer 20 rounders, but not with Okay milspec mags. With the silencer, it will lock back with anything even running an H3 buffer. It has a .07 gas port.

If you have a DD, it might have a smaller port. I heard something about them reducing the gas port size to under milspec on theirs.

MWAG19919
09-29-21, 04:38