PDA

View Full Version : Newbie needs some advice...

stratguy
11-09-21, 19:00
Hey guys/gals,

I'm not new to firearms, however, I'm new to AR's. I just bought my 1st - a Noveske Afghan 14.5, and am in need of an optic for it. Two things to note - I'm a right-handed shooter and am very left-eye dominate. I'm far-sighted and can't shoot a handgun without reading glasses as I can't see the sights, although my distance vision is good. Would love to be able to use an optic with both eyes open.

Looking for an optic that is fairly good at close range, but also good up to 100 yds. No set budget - will spend what I need to get something good that works.

Recommendations?

Thanks

georgeib
11-09-21, 19:24
It sounds like you're looking for a good red dot. Many here would have you go for a tried and true Aimpoint, which are mostly good to go. A bit overpriced for what you get, in my opinion, but you likely won't have any issues with one. The Micro T2 model can be a bit dim though.

I personally prefer the Holosun 515 models over the Aimpoint because of their features, but have got my eye on their new AEMS model which will be going on a new build.

Mysteryman
11-10-21, 01:35
Aimpoint if you don't want to support Communism.

11-10-21, 05:25
I am also fond of Aimpoint, because they are durable, reliable, non-chinese, and can be left turned on. For the budget-minded, I would look at the PRO. And on the “only the finest will do” end, there is the Comp M5 1.93 combo available at Scalarworks.

stratguy
11-10-21, 06:10
Thanks for the feedback. I definitely want American-made, so Aimpoint it is.

11-10-21, 06:13
Thanks for the feedback. I definitely want American-made, so Aimpoint it is.

Good choice, but its Swedish, just to be clear.

stratguy
11-10-21, 06:45
My mistake, thanks.

georgeib
11-10-21, 07:11
My mistake, thanks.