PDA

View Full Version : Dillon woth the extra cost?

jrcii
11-30-21, 20:00
Hello All,

I'm planning on starting to reload (great timing I know). In two weeks I'll have the opportunity to buy some Hornady kits at dealer cost. I was definitely going to get the Classic Kit https://www.hornady.com/reloading/presses/lock-n-load-classic#!/. I was also seriously thinking about the AP kit https://www.hornady.com/reloading/presses/lock-n-load-ap#!/.

My problem is that, for progressive, I really want a Dillon 550. But, I can't get one of those for cheap.

I'm pretty sure that the Dillon is a better press than the Hornady. But, is it better enough to pay full retail on it vs dealer price on the Hornday?

Any advice you have would be very much appreciated.

Thanks,

JRC

JiminAZ
11-30-21, 20:11
I have no experience with the Hornady equipment so can't comment on their relative quality/function.

I have two Dillon 550's. Only you can decide if it is "worth it" but for me it has been. They send parts for free, even if I break it and I tell them no, its my fault I broke it. And the design is robust enough that I rarely break or wear something out.

I bought my second one used. When it arrived it was clearly worn out. Called Dillon and told them the situation. Was very clear I bought it used from someone else and it was flat out loose and worn out. They said send it in we will rebuild it. Two weeks later I had an as new press. Total cost to me was one way shipment to Dillon. They rebuilt it and sent it back on their nickel.

The weak point of the 550 is the primer feed. That's my only complaint. But I have found ways to manage it.

Nowadays I live less than 5 miles from Dillon, so it's even better!

glocktogo
11-30-21, 20:24
Dillon has been so good to me that I can’t not recommend them when this question comes up. I will say that I really like Hornady’s dies and quite a few reside on my various Dillon 550 toolheads.

MWAG19919
11-30-21, 20:36