PDA

View Full Version : .223/556 As a Deer Round?

Magsz
12-18-08, 12:33
Hey guys, i feel like a real nooblet here because well...i am. Ive searched the forum and beyond the Deer Jihad thread i havent really found any information on using the AR15 as a platform for hunting Deer and other "large" game as it pertains to my complete beginners situation.

I currently have an LMT MRP chambered in 5.56. I am being taken hunting for the very first time next week up in Georgia and while it wasnt specified exactly what i would be hunting im going to assume its Deer. While i am looking forward to this, im not all that interested in the whole killing aspect unless its a clean kill. I dont want to wound animals and watch them suffer so that i can make myself venison burgers for the next month or two.

If im going to shoot something i want it to go down with as little suffering as possible, ie a "clean" kill is what i believe its called.

Can a .223/5.56mm round be used for hunting purposes?

Just to give you an idea of how stupidly ignorant i am in regards to hunting, my response when someone told me that .223 would not kill a deer was, "ill just shoot it in the head, no problem".

DocGKR
12-18-08, 12:50
"Can a .223/5.56mm round be used for hunting purposes?"

Many states prohibit .223/5.56 mm for anything but varmint hunting--check your state fish and game laws to see if you can legally use .223/5.56 mm for hunting deer. One of the advantages of 6.5G and 6.8mm is that they allow the AR15 to lawfully be used for hunting larger game in states that won't allow .223/5.56 mm hunting of deer and up.