PDA

View Full Version : Cracked lower repair?

ta0117
05-24-22, 15:42
I'm pretty new to ARs, so I wasn't aware that you're not supposed to let the hammer drop on a lower receiver when it's separated from the upper receiver. I had a Geissele trigger which has a stronger hammer spring and a cutout so that it contacts the receiver instead of the bolt catch. I let it drop a few times and I have a crack on my lower receiver now. I'm pretty bummed about this and since this is a Noveske lower, I want to know if it's salvageable. Since it's forged 7075 aluminum, I don't think it's weldable. Alternately, I wonder if something like epoxy would do the trick.

markm
05-24-22, 15:46
Got any pics of the damage?

ta0117
05-24-22, 15:54
It's hard to capture on camera but on the forward wall of the receiver where the fire control group cutout is, there is a hairline crack near the left corner.

lysander
05-24-22, 16:12
I'm pretty new to ARs, so I wasn't aware that you're not supposed to let the hammer drop on a lower receiver when it's separated from the upper receiver. I had a Geissele trigger which has a stronger hammer spring and a cutout so that it contacts the receiver instead of the bolt catch. I let it drop a few times and I have a crack on my lower receiver now. I'm pretty bummed about this and since this is a Noveske lower, I want to know if it's salvageable. Since it's forged 7075 aluminum, I don't think it's weldable. Alternately, I wonder if something like epoxy would do the trick.7075 is not considered a weldable alloy . . .

Pics? It may just be a "don't do it again" kind'a thing.

markm
05-24-22, 16:16
Does the bolt catch still move freely?

ta0117
05-24-22, 16:43
Does the bolt catch still move freely?
Bolt catch still moves freely.

Running my fingernails along the front wall I can notice it. Currently the lower seems to function fine.