PDA

View Full Version : Problem with Surefire muzzle device?

Twilk73
07-04-22, 17:13
I am a automotive mechanic not a gun smith. So now that that is out of the way.

I started to hand thread the Surefire flash hider onto a POF barrel. I was test fitting it to see what shim we would need. The birdcage made it approximately three rotations by hand, no tool was used, it got tight and wasn’t even half on, so I went to back it off and it was stuck. This thing was so stuck I had my buddy hold the vice table down while I was turning it off with the wrench. I never touched it with a wrench until I needed to remove it. I’m freaking confused, being a mechanic this makes no sense, you don’t hand tighten something and now it’s so tight it won’t come off. Anyway we removed it and 1/3 of the threads are stripped on both the barrel and the birdcage. It looks like it was cross threaded. I’ve cross threaded plenty of bolts, as a mechanic it’s just part of the job, mostly in the early years and when you get complacent from rushing.

Anyway, initial thoughts are it was cross threaded but to me that makes no sense, I only put it on with my hand, it felt a tad snug but not bad until it just stopped. Then it barely removed with tools. I used a gauge and the remaining threads on the barrel are in fact 1/2 x 28. I couldn’t really gauge the birdcage. So knowing the POF barrel threads seem ok can I assume the birdcage was not ok. Outside looking in, this looks like I cross threaded it and it would be hard for me to prove otherwise. However, I’m not the hulk I’m average Joe I don’t see how I cross threaded it three whole turns by hand.

Can adco or someone else re threads this without cutting it? I might be able to re thread the barrel myself actually.

Thanks for your input.

07-04-22, 18:21