PDA

View Full Version : What mount and weapons light for my FN M4 Military collectors carbine?

Johnny Appleseed
07-08-22, 12:02
I recently pick up an unfired FN M4 military collector carbine for a good price.
It was missing the K.A.RAS panels along with the vertical handle.
I found the three 11-line Knights Armament panels for the sides and top.
I picked up the vertical handle with a 6-line panel for the bottom.
Now if I find a surefire flashlight with picatinny rail mount, should I replace a 11 line rail
with a shorter one? Or should I look for a mount that fits in the triangular front sight?
I'm fairly new to these so opinions will help immensely.
I'm looking for G.I. quality.
Thank you, gentleman,

Twilk73
07-08-22, 12:10
With my mod light plh I can identify targets at 200 yards on a Misty night. I could make out the target at 300 but I couldn’t identify it if it was a person.

markm
07-08-22, 12:50
I run a my light mount on the top rail with no panel. Sides get panels that fit areas left open after attachments. I'll just cut town an 11 rib if needed.

Here's a few of my set ups:

https://i.imgur.com/TTY62ya.jpg

kirkland
07-08-22, 16:43
If you really want to be authentic go with 100mph tape and a handheld surefire incandescent

Johnny Appleseed
07-08-22, 18:50
Thanks for the suggestion's gentleman! I think cutting a panel on the top rail is the way to go! Or pick up a smaller rail.
I recently added my first red dot Sig Romeo 5. I watched the torture test on You Tube. Wow could that thing take a beating!
I sighted it in in about 10 shots. I'm enjoying this little carbine!
I think a Surefire is the way to go for this carbine.

grizzman
07-08-22, 19:04
Are you trying to make a clone, or are you looking for a recommendation based on actual performance?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

ABNAK
07-08-22, 19:41
Duct tape a chemlight to the handguard? Just kidding.