PDA

View Full Version : M855 at 500 Y

WillBrink
08-05-22, 09:05
Even at 500Y, no joke on the jello. I know M855 does not have the best rep for accuracy, but seems like if you do your job, have the right set up, it will do its job. I have no experience shooting at those distances so can't comment one way or another:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oDFo2QmRhk8

markm
08-05-22, 09:38
Now that's a gun video I'll actually watch... when I get home though.

WickedWillis
08-05-22, 11:37
I wonder how drastically the performance changes dropping under an 18" barrel. I know M855 is pretty well appreciated on here.

WillBrink
08-05-22, 11:50
I wonder how drastically the performance changes dropping under an 18" barrel. I know M855 is pretty well appreciated on here.

My understanding is the M855 designed to perform well from the M4, vs M193 which was designed to perform best from longer M16A1s per my discussion with Ash Hess (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ygLIA4qDAk8&t=2991s). I also posted a vid of the M855 from a 7.5" pistol in the dedicated thread on loads for SBRs/PDWs, and it seemed perform well enough for it's design. So, I suspect performance well under 18" per design and I'm sure sure if there's any performance improvements from 18" barrels.

08-05-22, 13:51
Terminal performance suffers with lost velocity. Hitting an E-type at 500 with M855 isn’t particularly hard, though.

Delta-3
08-05-22, 15:23
He's shooting left handed. How can we possibly take this man's test seriously? (j/k)
Many dismiss the 5.56 as too diminutive for humans. ( I was one of them) Ask around to those that know, the 5.56 (in various bullet configurations) has killed a lot of people. It'll do it's job if you do yours.

WillBrink
08-05-22, 15:29
He's shooting left handed. How can we possibly take this man's test seriously? (j/k)