PDA

View Full Version : G43 opinions

flenna
08-31-22, 18:48
My LGS has a couple of barely (as in no visible wear)used G43s for $349 that I was checking out today. This is the first time handling and they are a lot smaller than I expected. I have been carrying a G30 for 25 years and don’t see a need to change but I was thinking the G43 could replace the j-frame I occasionally carry. I know there have been more Glocks out since then (G45, G48, G45x, etc..) that I really don’t have an interest in so if you have owned a G43 what is your opinion?

The Dumb Gun Collector
08-31-22, 19:22
In my opinion it is too small. Again, in my opinion the S&W shield is better sized for shooting. I found the size to be so small on the G43 that I ended up having to make a lot of effort to avoid the slide release, etc. I don't think it brings enough to the table to justify replacing the J-frame, especially if you are pocket carrying.

I will say the one I had was reliable when I did my part.

09-01-22, 02:39
It works; its very concealable. I carry it when I feel that it is important not to print, but not completely non-permissive. Its inexpensive, and holsters and mags exist. There are no add-on backstraps, so if you wear a big glove, it might not be optimal; get a double stack. I carry mine IWB, and intend to get a G48 MOS slide for it at some point for funsies. Capacity wise, yeah, it doesn’t hold much more than a revolver. But I usually carry a pair of reloads with Vickers +2 kits to balance my belt. Does that offset the lack of capacity? I dunno. Maybe. I do know that capacity adds weight, and when more is desired/tolerated I just grab a G19.

LowSpeed_HighDrag
09-01-22, 07:49
The p365 is slightly bigger and holds double the rounds. The Shield is the same size, holds one or two more, is easier to shoot. I’ve owned all 3 and the G43 made little sense to me.

themonk
09-01-22, 08:09