PDA

View Full Version : BCM VS Colt BCG

SFW
12-06-22, 15:55
I’m getting ready to pick up a few spare bolt carrier groups for the safe. I have two BCM rifles that have never given me any issues in the six years that I have had them. I also have a Colt 6920 that has run great as well. So my question is this… is the Colt BCG worth an extra $50 over the BCM?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

georgeib
12-06-22, 16:04
No, it isn't.

https://media.tenor.com/Xw-PgnWOUBYAAAAC/eating-popcorn-im-watching.gif

markm
12-06-22, 16:17
I'd keep the OEM parts in the Guns and scoop up the Microbest or AO precision BCGs for spares. They're both TDP/Mil Spec. I've been running the AO BCG in my SOCOM every week for the last 6 months or so, and it's a champ. Was $79 over the holiday sale.

My only NO GO is any non mil spec metals or finishes. (Nitride, NiB, etc)

That said, if you really want OEM, the BCM BCG QC process is pretty solid, and I'd just stop there. (I love my Colts, but not for $50 more)

ggammell
12-06-22, 16:20
Nope.

12-06-22, 17:08
Whats the purpose for “a few” spare BCGs?

HKGuns
12-06-22, 17:38
For a Colt rifle yes. For anything else, nope.

SFW
12-06-22, 17:51

If something breaks. I’ve actually sheered the number 8 fasteners off of a bolt once. Wilson Combat if anyone is curious.

I like having spares. I also have a 16” 9mm PCC that if need be I could re-barrel and turn into another 5.56 rifle. I have a DD 16” mid-length barrel for it. Would like a quality BCG as well.

I have a spare Tool Craft BCG, but am hesitant to use it, as I have heard some sketchy reports on their QC.

I suffer from the philosophy of two is one. One is none. Lol. I’m also of the mind that if you buy quality then it lasts longer.

titsonritz
12-06-22, 18:03

I like to keep 2 or 3 around in case I need/want to build a rifle and don't have to worry about availability/price.

I far as spare parts goes I have several bolts, firing, cam pins, bolt rebuild kits, etc, etc.

Patrin