PDA

View Full Version : Who has given up booz and why?

WillBrink
04-06-23, 13:30
When did you give it up and why?

I drink once a week, probably 1-2 more drinks than optimally healthy per data. Considering who I am and what I do for a living, should no doubt quit totally. But, my approach has always been one of (attempted) balance and moderation, and I like to drink. But, I do come from a long line of people who had major issues with booz, and a good % of family members long time AA members.

markm
04-06-23, 13:44
Did the dry January thing this year. I was both dreading and hoping I'd feel GREAT! But I really didn't feel a slight bit better. I partly wanted a good reason to not drink, but after 31 days... no difference.

WillBrink
04-06-23, 13:54
Did the dry January thing this year. I was both dreading and hoping I'd feel GREAT! But I really didn't feel a slight bit better. I partly wanted a good reason to not drink, but after 31 days... no difference.

I took almost 3 months off last year or so, and like you, didn't notice any differences.

titsonritz
04-06-23, 13:57
I gave it up for a year (2022) and have only a few drinks this year. Why? I like it too much.

Adrenaline_6
04-06-23, 14:30
Pretty much gave it up. Just on occasion. Don't really crave it all anymore.

Stickman
04-06-23, 14:31
I took almost 3 months off last year or so, and like you, didn't notice any differences.

Another one along the lines of what MarkM said. I have yet to notice a real difference in anything. I stopped recently to see how much it helps me drop a couple pounds, but I foresee nothing exciting happening. I don't drink to get drunk, and I don't feel any strong desires to have alcohol when I stop.

chuckman
04-06-23, 14:39
Honestly, I probably should (take a break). I can go long periods of not drinking, but when I do, can kill fifth of whiskey in 2 days.

04-06-23, 15:36