PDA

View Full Version : Stolen Valor? Or no?

matemike
05-01-23, 22:00
I am a merchant marine. A civilian, and nothing else during times the US is not at war. (If the US declares war we merchant marines “can be” called upon to help supply the battle lines via ship).
I went to a maritime academy and graduated with a United States Coast Guard issued license. I’ve been keeping my license current and up to date with the USCG for 18 years and counting.

Today I work as a harbor pilot and have my State’s Commission through a letter from the governor to work as a state appointed pilot. My service to the state is to protect the shores and harbors by bringing in ships safely and securely to the port(s).

I am also a First Responder. The county I work in has deemed myself and my group of coworkers to be beneficial during times of hurricane or any other disaster that could occur on the coast. The county officials know they can use our expertise as well as our readily available and heavily capable pilot boat for rescue and recon services.

I don’t go about toting my services nor try to stand out as a person of any sort of service. Believe me, I know and respect those of the active service, as well as some vets. My wife’s (also a merchant marine) younger brother is a USMC marine. Her sister is a Major in the USAF and HER husband is a General in the USAF. See, I know folks who deserve the respect, for sure.

But my question is: for example: when I am asked at a ticket counter if anyone is active military, Vet, law enforcement etc. I usually throw out that I am a merchant marine, US coast guard licensed, and a first responder in my county. Viola! I get the discount. Never thought much about it.