PDA

View Full Version : So I have a problem…. A decent one

ubet
07-04-23, 18:49
This is a picture of a 556 lc casing. The rest of it, is in my chamber. How do I remove it?https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20230704/7647909a2f81a9124d95149f077256a6.jpg

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

militarymoron
07-04-23, 19:01
Broken shell extractor. Do a google search for .223 broken shell extractors and you'll links to purchase and videos on how to use one.

T2C
07-04-23, 19:43
Broken shell extractor. Do a google search for .223 broken shell extractors and you'll links to purchase and videos on how to use one.

This is the way to go. I have been carrying a broken case extractor in my range bag for over 40 years. There are two kinds of shooters, those who have had case head separation and those who will.

georgeib
07-04-23, 19:47
This is the way to go. I have been carrying a broken case extractor in my range bag for over 40 years. There are two kinds of shooters, those who have had case head separation and those who will.Been thinking of getting one for 10 years. Will probably go ahead and get one for the toolbox.

Have you ever had to use yours?

ubet
07-04-23, 20:07
Ok. So I just ran one of the bore snakes down it, from the muzzle and it came right out without much problem. What would cause the case to do this though? I was going to chock it up to a bad case. I fired two more from the same batch (personal reloads) and everything was fine. https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20230705/28dbf4eb781bb7030eb35e26ed933f9e.jpg

kerplode
07-04-23, 20:21
How many times was that case loaded?