PDA

View Full Version : Worn out Gas Tubes

markm
10-16-23, 10:39
I think I've stumbled upon my 3rd worn out gas tube. By worn out I mean on the carrier key end where there's a larger diameter band that seals in the carrier key.

A few years back I had two mid-length BCM tubes that wore down on that area to the point where the gas leakage cause soft/short stroking. I have a BCM SOCOM Carbine factory upper that's several years old. It has always been excessively soft on bolt speed/cycling, but I could never figure out why. I even dropped down to a carbine H2 buffer system from the A5 Vltor to improve cycling.

Yesterday I went to clean this gun (which I recently started shooting more often) and noticed the gas tube has no visible step up in diameter on the end that sticks into the gas key.

This would be my 3rd BCM gas tube from 5+ years ago that has failed prematurely. None of these had excessive firing schedules at all.

(Anyone know who has Colt carbine gas tubes in stock?) Brownells and Arms Unlimited are out of stock.

HKGuns
10-16-23, 10:46
Yeah, there isn't much Colt stock anywhere right now. Sorry I can't help you, but as a potential alternative, you might give a Wilson Combat gas tube a shot.

In case you didn't know, there is a guage for that measurement, if you're at all curious.

Mark Brown Custom Gas Tube Gauge (https://www.brownells.com/tools-cleaning/gun-tools/rifle-tools/ar-15m16-gas-tube-gauge/)

markm
10-16-23, 11:17
I'm interested in pulling the tube an measuring it, but I don't want to be stuck with no replacement for months. The gun does run good, but the tube finally explains the sluggish bolt speed I'd noticed for years.

HKGuns
10-16-23, 11:24
I'm interested in pulling the tube an measuring it, but I don't want to be stuck with no replacement for months. The gun does run good, but the tube finally explains the sluggish bolt speed I'd noticed for years.