PDA

View Full Version : Barrel length and noise

odugrad
11-17-23, 17:10
This may seem like a total noob question but here goes:

I'm looking for the best barrel length for a home defense rifle most likely to be used indoors. I'm currently running a 14.5 midlength and am confident if I had to use it indoors it wouldn't permanently damage my hearing. Thinking about setting up an 11.5 in it's place but am concerned about my hearing. Both have a standard flash hider and I won't be suppressing them.

Anyone have experience with an 11.5 indoors with no hearing protection? And would a 300 blk be quieter than a 5.56 if the barrels are the same size?

Thanks!

grizzman
11-17-23, 17:28
You shouldn't be confident that firing more than a few rounds of un-suppressed 5.56 in your living room won't cause permanent hearing damage. How much damage it causes, and is this damage acceptable to you are the pertinent questions.

Electronic earmuffs live on the door knob of the door next to or in front of HD weapons. I have no doubt that the 3 or 4 seconds it takes me to place them onto my head and turn a knob will cause me any harm in a home invasion.

RennBaer
11-17-23, 17:32
An 11.5 barrel will be quite a bit louder and more concussive than a 14.5, but either length is definitely not hearing safe indoors without hearing protection. Supposedly part of the reason that the military adopted the 14.5 barrel length for the M4 carbine was that they found it was the minimum barrel length required to bring muzzle blast and sound levels down to a reasonable level when fired indoors, but it's definitely still not hearing safe.

Sub-sonic 300 blackout will be SIGNIFICANTLY quieter than any 5.56 round. Add a suppressor and its movie quiet.

Is there a reason you're not planning to use a suppressor on this home defense gun? It would definitely be the right way to go if you're concerned about your hearing.

LowSpeed_HighDrag
11-17-23, 17:50