PDA

View Full Version : Historical: Son Tay Raiders CAR-15

Slater
01-10-09, 08:19
These photos are of the SF personnel just before the Son Tay prison raid in 1970. What kind of scopes are those on the CAR-15's/XM-177's?

http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y167/pb57/Slide16.jpg
http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y167/pb57/Slide8.jpg
http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y167/pb57/Slide5.jpg

Cold Zero
01-10-09, 08:35
Ah, the first use of red dot sights in combat. At least that I am aware of. I'll bet those early red dot sights are now worth money:eek:.

Thanks for posting that.

seb5
01-10-09, 08:46
Are they some sort of big older type Armson OEG?

Treehopr
01-10-09, 08:47
IIRC LAV said that the original red dot sights used on the Son Tay raid were Armson OEG (Occluded Eye Gunsight).

Apparently tough to find on the collector market because they were also featured in the original Star Wars movie.

Armati
01-10-09, 09:30
I have no special knowledge here. However, they look to me (from the photo) like an old Burris pistol scope.

BTW, these pics are great. TOS has a great sticky of historical photos like this.

sinister
01-10-09, 09:54
They are the original Singlepoint Occluded Eye Gunsight.

Toten Kopf
01-10-09, 13:09
************end of line

olds442tyguy
01-10-09, 14:49
Trijicon maintained production of the OEG up until about a year ago. You can still find them brand new if you search.

Slater
01-10-09, 15:02
Could be GAU-5's, but why would Army SF be using USAF weapons?

NoBody
01-10-09, 15:17
Deleted.

fabulous45s
01-10-09, 15:20
What an awesome operation. The debrief from that was incredible to read. We've had a couple of veterans from that op come by the schoolhouse for a visit. Good bunch of cats.

ICANHITHIMMAN
01-10-09, 15:34
In my opinion you guys are right on with the ARMSONG sight

One of thouse men is my uncle Todd he was just laid to rest with full military honours last month he was 63. I would have loved to ask him for you guys.

Slater
01-10-09, 16:03