PDA

View Full Version : 1911's

Mr.Goodtimes
01-13-09, 22:28
Hey guys ive been kickin around the idea of buying my first handgun for the past few months. Im a broke college student so this is going to be my only handgun for a while. I was originally looking into getting a glock 20 but, every time i think of getting something else i always circle back to a 1911, i cant get away from it. 1911's are about as american as killin terrorists and apple pie. So, heres my question, what are some nice 1911's i can get for about 700 bucks? price cant exceed 800 bucks. Im looking for a reliable, accurate shtf 1911.

Daveo
01-13-09, 22:34
If you are only going to have one handgun and don't have a lot of money to spend, a 1911 is probably not a good choice. A gun purchased at that price will likely need some work to run well enough to be depended on. What about getting an M&P 45 (similar grip angle, can be had with strong side safety) and then a 1911 later on when you have the bank account to support it?

ToddG
01-13-09, 22:36
Suggest you do an exhaustive search of this forum. The issue of bargain 1911's comes up often and has been rehashed almost monthly.

Have a good idea in your mind of what you want the gun for: home defense, concealed carry, competition, plinking?

Mr.Goodtimes
01-13-09, 22:37
if i were to have to spend money on a $700 gun to make it run right then forget it, ill resort back to my old plan, but a heartless plastic pistol (glock or SW) I like the SW, i havent held one but they look nice, and their very affordable.

Mr.Goodtimes
01-13-09, 22:43
Todd, this said handgun would pretty much be an all of the above gun. Home defense, ccw, carbine/pistol course gun, some competition, weekly range plinker. Its going to be used heavily. Now for whatever its worth, im a 6'1" 176lb athlete, broad shoulders, large chest, so for ccw size doesent really matter.

ToddG
01-13-09, 22:46