PDA

View Full Version : SVI / STI's

bushmasterar15
01-14-09, 03:38
Any of you have them? How do you like them? Post up some pics. I'm trying to decide on one.

Robb Jensen
01-14-09, 05:05
This is my Limited gun, it was first built as a very heavy 10mm by pistolsmith Tim Bacus of Bacus Custom. Later the original owner then built it into a .40S&W and used a Schuemann AET barrel. When I bought it from the original owner that's how it was configured. I shot it that way for a little while. Later I developed 'tennis elbow' in my left elbow. So then I started shooting much lighter weight guns like Glocks and M&Ps in competition. I later had pistolsmith Kevin Greeley of www.greeleycustom.com do some drastic work on it. He shorted the frames dust cover, did the Browning Hi-Power type cuts on the muzzle end of the slide, milled lightening ports on the top of the slide and milled off all the cocking serrations. He then milled some cocking serrations of the very back end of the slide. It shoots very flat even flatter than a 9mm Glock 17 when using my 180gr Atlanta Arms .40 long ammo (OAL=1.180") which does make Major power factor for USPSA. I'll be ditching the fiber front sight soon, I'm finding that I shoot plain black sights more accurately than I do fiber w/o being any slower especially since now the muzzle barely lifts while shooting. With fiber I sometimes see the dot and pull the trigger too soon resulting in high hits on the target because I'm focusing on the dot and not the sight alignment of the metal of the sights.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v408/gotm4/gunpics/3gunguns10.jpg
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v408/gotm4/gunpics/3gunguns1.jpg
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v408/gotm4/gunpics/3gunguns4.jpg

Powder_Burn
01-14-09, 09:44