PDA

View Full Version : Dillon's Super Swage 600???

10MMGary
01-18-09, 15:10
Anyone here using one to remove the primer pocket crimp on 5.56 NATO cases? Recommend it or thumbs down? Tips for best use if you own one and like it. Does Dillon's no BS warrenty apply to this piece of equipment?

TIA,
Gary

ARx3
01-18-09, 17:38
I've been using one for over 20 years for 5.56,.308,and .30/06 as well as 9mm and .45ACP. It's simple and straight forward to use and as with all Dillon equiptment their "NO BS" warrenty applies.

agr1279
01-19-09, 08:43
Anyone here using one to remove the primer pocket crimp on 5.56 NATO cases? Recommend it or thumbs down? Tips for best use if you own one and like it. Does Dillon's no BS warrenty apply to this piece of equipment?

TIA,
Gary

They are the bomb. It is a one use tool since once you swage a pocket it is done with that case. Bought mine when it was pretty cheap. Not sure what it goes for now.

Dan

winky
01-19-09, 08:46
love mine. Its the hands down best tool to do the job.

g5m
01-19-09, 08:49
They work fine.

markm
01-19-09, 10:27
Sold mine. I didn't like how the swager needed to be dialed in for different kinds of the same caliber of brass.

I wasn't consistent at all. Either you made the pocket too loose or you have a small percentage of crimps that weren't removed completely.

I didn't like the thing at all.

I'm using the hornady primer crimp cutting tool with much better results. Just chuck the cutter in a drill and go to town just as fast as the swager except that it's about $60 cheaper. :cool:

Bat Guano
01-19-09, 19:33
Have had mine for almost ten years now; have processed a LOT of GI brass in 7.62, '06, and 5.56 through it with zero issues. Since the adjusting rod is--adjustable-- initial setting matters. After that, you are limited by only your manual dexterity and endurance. Great invention.

Used the RCBS primer pocket swager for a brief time prior to that. :( Sure was happy to see that go.:cool:

Gewehr455