PDA

View Full Version : New guy wanting a AR

Notman
01-28-09, 18:17
Hey all, I am new to ARs and guns for the most part. Have always like them but until recently the wife was pretty much against having them in the house. With the kids getting older and working there way out of the house we decided to get our first pistol a few months ago.
I have been wanting a AR but didn't really have the funds for one and figured I would wait and save along with learn more about them before getting one. Last week I sold my bike and have the money but have other things that it could go to that would make the wife much happier. The thing is I would hate to have them band and miss out on the chance. Also if I pick one up now and the ban goes through do you feel the price will go up? Will you even be able to sell them?
If the price goes up it would be more like an investment and if it didn't I would hope the value would stay close to what it is now.

Guess what I'm getting at is this a good time to buy for a guy that wants one but doesnt need to have one?

Sorry for the long post and thanks for any input.

Veracity
01-28-09, 18:45
Some think the current prices will drop. If that's true, then now is a bad time to buy.

There are those that have the "get it while you still can" attitude--like me. If we're right, now is your chance.

Are things over priced? Yeah. If you miss out on buying what you want 'cause you waited for the price to drop a few hundred bucks...you might beat yourself up over it.

daved
01-28-09, 18:53
I wouldn't buy an AR in the current political climate for an investment. If a ban comes about, it may:

A. Prohibit the future production/importation of ARs

B. Prohibit the transfer but allow ownership of existing ARs

C. Prohibit (confiscate) all ARs, including those currently in private hands

A and/or B are mostly likely, C would be a stretch