PDA

View Full Version : Lee Reloader and Privi

csun_00
01-29-09, 10:22
I was trying to remove some primers from my stash of Privi 5.56 and it appears like I have warped and probably broken the guide bolt. Is this an issue with the Privi? Or was this operator error?

markm
01-29-09, 12:13
PRIV primers definitely deform when you pop them out. I can't feel a difference on my reloader, but they do bend when you remove them.

csun_00
01-29-09, 15:07
Should I longer try to reload the Privi or will the guide bolt continue to be a problem because of the reloader I choose.

markm
01-29-09, 15:19
I'm not sure. I'm not familiar with your set up. But I'd guess that your Lee should be able to handle the brass.

MarshallDodge
01-29-09, 15:26
Could it be that you accidentally got a berdan primed case in the mix? That will do a number on things in a real hurry.

csun_00
01-29-09, 15:46
I am new to this how does one distinguish a berdan case?

MarshallDodge
01-29-09, 15:56
The easiest way is to take a flashlight and look down into the case through the mouth at the flash hole. If it has two holes then it is berdan, one hole is boxer. If you have a berdan case the decapping pin will hit the area between the two holes and put stress on the pin.

csun_00
01-29-09, 15:58
Makes perfect sense I will check them and get back to you all. Thanks for the info.

rat31465
01-29-09, 18:13
I have not ever tried to load any Privi, nor have I even shot any...but my first question to you is....
Are these crimped in primers?
If they are that would explain the bent decapping pins/rod.

Look at them carefully.

I know that these are boxer primed...at least according to information found at Midway USA.

MarshallDodge
01-29-09, 18:20
I have not ever tried to load any Privi, nor have I even shot any...but my first question to you is....
Are these crimped in primers?
If they are that would explain the bent decapping pins/rod.