PDA

View Full Version : Play between upper & lower receivers

jimmyhots
01-29-09, 19:17
Hi all, I just purchased a new Colt LE6920 (for a relatively decent price, was on a waiting list for two months...). There is a little play between the upper & lower receivers. Is this normal, should I be concerned?

Thanks,
Jimmy

SecretAgentMan
01-29-09, 19:36
It's normal, and usually doesn't affect accuracy in AR pattern rifles. If it really bothers you, a small rubber o-ring placed over the pivot pin can sometimes eliminate the wobble.

jimmyhots
01-29-09, 19:41
Don't want to be too anal about it, just doing an initial quality check of the gun and was expecting it to be tighter. If this isn't normal, I'll send it back, but if it is, then so be it. I'm new to ARs so any advice is appreciated.

bkb0000
01-29-09, 19:58
no, that's a big problem with colts. the real problem is, they wont take them back for that. but the ones that are sloppy can have huge reliability issues.

i happen to be a receiver resizer- i buy sloppy guns for good prices and resize the receivers. because i can resell the weapon for a good price, i'm able to offer good money for an otherwise worthless weapon. it's good that you posted here, bro. I'll give you $800 for it right now.

JBnTX
01-29-09, 21:06
...There is a little play between the upper & lower receivers. Is this normal, should I be concerned?....

Completely normal, nothing to be concerned about.

Now if you have a..., well don't worry you probably don't.

But if you do...., on second thought never mind.

sdcromer
01-29-09, 21:50
Go to the hardware store and buy a viton o-ring with 1/16 cross section and a 5/8 OD and a 1/2 ID. Place the o-ring around the pivot lug on the upper where the front pivot pin goes through. Install the upper on the the lower and the o-ring will take up the play between the upper and lower.

TOM1911
01-29-09, 21:50