PDA

View Full Version : HOLY BATMAN . . . Bushmaster w/ a "TUPPERWARE" PLASTIC Lower Reciever!

S&Wfan
02-06-09, 19:48
I was in a local gun store today and the owner handed me a new Bushmaster AR-15 he'd just gotten in and said, "Check this out!"

THE DANGED THING HAD A LOWER RECEIVER MADE OF BLACK PLASTIC . . . instead of aluminum!

Is this a new development? It is surely new to me . . . then again, I'm just getting into the black rifle part of the sport.

Wow . . . a Tupperware AR 15!

T

Rider79
02-06-09, 20:00
Its the Carbon-15, they've been out for a long time. I think the company who was selling them before Bushmaster bought them was Professional Ordnance or something like that. They used the carbon fiber during the AWB to bring their AR pistol in under the weight restrictions on pistols under the AWB.

Mikey
02-06-09, 20:03
Carbon 15.

Treed.

Rider79
02-06-09, 20:06
Could also be Cavalry Arms, but I don't know of any partnerships they've done with Bushmaster.

Shihan
02-07-09, 01:22
Carbon 15 and Cav arms lower are a different animal.

steve-oh
02-07-09, 01:25
Were the pistol grip and buttstock integral with the lower? If not it's probably a carbon 15 lower, and you need to steer very, very clear of it.

bullseye
02-07-09, 08:23
sabre defence also sells one with the cav-15 polymer lower, i found one about a month ago for 869$ and bought it. it came in a sabre-marked assualt case with two 30 rd. mags and a bore-snake kit in one of the pockets. it is an a1 stock, i beleive they called it a ar=lite, i gave it to my son-in-law,,,he's crazy about it. made a fine gift for free,,for sure. [along wih a dozen assorted mags, and 700 rds. of good ammo]

Jay Cunningham
02-07-09, 08:26
Polymer lower receiver = why?

markm
02-07-09, 08:46
Polymer lower receiver = why?