PDA

View Full Version : new to AR's can use some help.

LT.TOZZI
02-11-09, 01:34
Hi im new to the AR world. i was reading on some threads that the "bushy" bushmaster rifles are not the best. before discovering this site i started to pay for a bushmaster A3M4 superlight carbine for $1150 at my local gun shop brand new. after doing a little reasearch i discovered that i would rather get a NOVESKE N4 Light Carbine Basic and then i discovered they wont be available until at least the beggining of the summer and its $1500. i was wondering if you guys could help me pick a rifle? it would be mostly for plinking, hunting, and targets. i would like to be able to change my upper so i can put a differant caliber in it (if thats possible) like a 45ACP convertion, or i know theres spikes .22LR upper. i want to be able to put on accesories like a custom trigger,grip,ect. trijicon Acog so the carrying handle cant be fixed. all help and input would be apreciated ---THANKS
LT.TOZZI

Rider79
02-11-09, 15:58
Read this:

https://www.m4carbine.net/showthread.php?t=6642

ROADKING
02-11-09, 18:39
I just bought a smith m&p15 and love it. So far i have 500 rounds through it and shoots flawlessly. I just put on an aimpoint comp c3 and added the quad rail and surefire light and cca cheek rest and grip and cant complain a bit. Shoots dead on right out of the box.

TehLlama
02-11-09, 20:05
You've got a good rifle. It's not the fanciest, and it's not what you'd want if you were skydiving into a ninja stronghold, but it will work.

For now as a new AR user - just pick up a few magazines, a couple hundred rounds of ammunition, and a sling. Take it to the range next chance you get, and get it zeroed. See how it handles, how it shoots, and take note of any stoppages that occur.