PDA

View Full Version : Effective range for Colt m4 vs. mark 12 mod. 0

ALCOAR
02-17-09, 22:32
Hi guys, hope are doing well. I was wondering if some of u more savvy ar guys can tell me the diff. b/t effective ranges b/t a 16.1" 1/7 colt m4 vs. any 18" spr or mark 12 type 223. gun. Im just getting into this sick disease... so pardon if its a rook question. I finally got a colt, and love it; however, for many yrs i have really wanted a nice mark 12 type capable of longer ranges, but for me being a bit green behind ears i cant seem to justify getting another 2000$ plus gun for just a cpl. inch's.

RyanB
02-18-09, 02:09
Hard to say, depends on a lot of things. I have a powerpoint from Crane attempting to quantify that... I would say that using military ball and an aimpoint, the M4 is at best a 300 yard weapon. I've shot it to five but with diminishing returns. Call it three. Put an ACOG on it, maybe five. With an ACOG and MK262, maybe six. I've not shot an actual MK12, but I've shot a 20" SS rifle with 75s and a Leupy MK4 to eight with solid results.

Cameron
02-18-09, 10:25
Like Ryan says it depends on what you want to do. Do you want to hit something at 400 or something at 900 yards?

A 16" AR is quite capable of making hits out to 800yards depending on the guy pulling the trigger, the optic, the trigger etc. It is easier than you think.

16" 1in7 twist SS LW50 barrel and 2 stage trigger 1.1-4power scope
http://i383.photobucket.com/albums/oo277/camz_pics/G%20and%20G/17%20inch/FinalARs03.jpg

With a just a 4power optic on a mid-length 1in9 twist barrel here are some targets at 600 & 700 yards....

Taping the 500yard target
http://i383.photobucket.com/albums/oo277/camz_pics/G%20and%20G/Shooting/082607500yards.jpg