PDA

View Full Version : New trigger parts, what do you do to them?

Glockster35
12-11-06, 08:40
I was thinking today that I would like to smooth out the trigger on my Bushmaster lower.

Does anyone have a link to a page detailing where to smooth or anything similar?

I have a dremel and Flitz and some fine crocus cloth to assist me.

Thanks!

deadwood83
12-11-06, 20:14
Buy a hammer block and repeatedly dry fire the lower while applying extra forward pressure on the hammer. It kinda is a super-wear-and-tear proceedure making the period where the components polish themselves much shorter.

I tried the whole do to the parts phase and ended up ruining the parts. I replaced the group with a JP single stage kit and it is DIVINE. They make a wonderful single stage set-up. I have no experience with the new Timney AR trigger so i can't speak for it but the JP is absolutely divine.

Low Drag
12-11-06, 20:56
I put a Rock River Arms NM trigger in my BM and love it.

Glockster35
12-11-06, 23:04
I know one thing for sure, I am buying the Superior Arms lower next go around. The extra screw in the pistol grip area should take all the creep out. I can see a new trigger set up in the future for this lower.

I polished all the areas on the stock trigger tonight, and it is much smoother than it was previously.

I wasn't expecting much from the polishing, but what I got is more than I had hoped!

deadwood83
12-12-06, 19:27
be veeeeeeeeeeeeery careful when you next go shooting! The part you most likely removed is the anodizing which protects the soft insides of the trigger. In the future there is the possibility that your trigger will fail and the rifle will have problems. serious problems. possibly illegal problems. I'm not saying it's a guarantee but just something to be aware of. If you used any compound to polish it then most likely the anodizing is gone.

Glockster35
12-12-06, 21:16