PDA

View Full Version : Help a Newcomer out?

fruitjacket
02-24-09, 15:42
Well, if you made it this far, I've at least picqued your curiousity.

Allow me a minute to give you some background.

I lived with my grandfather for 13 years when I was a kid. He was the only Dad I knew then. He was a self-taught gunsmith, and rather active in survivalism.
I learned things from him at age 10 I probably couldn't repeat anywhere.

That being said, while he did teach me alot, I got out of shooting when he and my Grandmother retired and moved to northern MN.

When he passed in 2000, he left me a Browning Automatic .308 for deer hunting.
I recently purchased a .22 LR and modified it extensively, and after some shooting last summer, I've rediscovered my love for weapons (I know, I know..it's not a "Gun"...that was made very clear when I was a kid).

I am 37, work as a Computer Network Engineer and have been following politics and world events quite closely for the last 3 years and I'm becoming increasingly worried about our current state of affairs with the economy, terrorism, freakin liberals, and a drastic loss of civill liberties.

OK...so get to the point....I know.

For multiple reasons (feel free to read into it), I'm looking to get into a AR style rifle.

Part of me wants one for home defense, but many could successfully argue that a Remington 870 Defender would be more suitable. Understood. And it's actually on the list as well.

Part of me wants one (or more....) so that I'm prepared in case there's a national disaster, whether it be terrorism or economic collapse, or many other possibilities.

Part of me wants one because I'm afraid that the current administration (my understanding is I can't mention him by name here) is going to ban the damn things, and I'll need it for more than one reason.

I'm in a bit of a conundrum because I'm struggling to decide which platform, manufacturer, options, etc., I'll want/need.