PDA

View Full Version : Sanity-check for my m4gery

HiggsBoson
02-25-09, 14:15
I'm building a new M4gery and was hoping to get some feedback on my plans. Be gentle, it's my first time. :o

Goals and background for this build:

Reliability balanced with versatility. Since this is my first (and, for now, my only) rifle, I'd like for it to be _basically_ GTG for everything from plinking at the indoor range, to home defense, to zombies/SHTF/come what may. So, short to mid-range accuracy is important. Long-distance is not really a big factor for me, as I think I'd go with a different build entirely for that purpose. I'll probably sight her in at 50yds and then double-check at 100 or so. I'd prefer to keep the weight with all accessories and parts down below the 10 lbs mark. I'd also like this carbine to be happy with most types of ammo whether it is SAAMI or NATO. The weights usually be 55 or 62, though I think I'll also try the 75gr OTM for SnG. Lower-1/3 co-witness is desired once I get optics, but I "aim" to start with only my irons. Consumption will be around or above 1000 rounds per year, mostly at the range, but I don't want to go TU when I enroll in a carbine class. Not asking for much out of my BM... I know... :eek: So, before we go through all this again: yes, I would prefer to own a different brand with fewer issues. I don't own one of those other brands, this is what I am stuck with for now.

I have located an armorer to help me out, and I'm hoping to have some upgrades and fixes done by him. I don't have the time, tools, or expertise to do these myself. Before I waste (more of) his time though, I'd appreciate a sanity check by the folks here at M4C.

Rifle:
Bushmaster O.R.C (Optics Ready Carbine (http://www.bushmaster.com/catalog_xm15_BCWVMF16M4ORC.asp))

Barrel Length: 16” (M4 profile w/ A2 FH)
Rifling: R.H. Twist – 1 turn in 9”
Weight w/o magazine: 6 lbs.

Parts in hand:
- YHM Spectre Length (9.65") FF forearm
- Magpul CTR-M w/ mil-spec kit and H-buffer