PDA

View Full Version : Components of a decent trauma kit?

Mikey
03-03-09, 11:08
Anyone care to list what would be prudent to carry in a small to medium sized personal trauma kit?

Looking to get this squared away.

techo
03-03-09, 11:30
I have the Adventure Medical Trauma kit. It's a good, basic low cost kit.
http://www.basegear.com/amk-field-trauma.html

03-03-09, 12:44
Mikey, is this a carry around with you all the time kit? If it's a go-bag type kit I would skip the pain relievers and stick with the meat and potatoes. Bandages, trauma shears, gauze, etc..

rob_s
03-03-09, 13:22
I am NOT a medical professional of any kind....

Looking at the military kits is a good start.

the below in chart form (http://spreadsheets.google.com/ccc?key=pwswheghNQsHamft6qeM9Fg)

Below information taken from here (http://www.armyproperty.com/Resources/NSN-Listings/IFAK.htm)

US ARMY IMPROVED FIRST AID KIT CONTENTS:
http://www.armyproperty.com/Equipment-Info/Pictures/IFAK.jpg
NSN............................Nomenclature
6515-01-521-7976.......Tourniquet, Combat Application
6510-01-492-2275.......Bandage Kit, Elastic
6510-01-503-2117 / 6510-00-058-3047 Bandage Gauze 4-1/2" 100/Pkg
6510-00-926-8883.......Adhesive Tape Surg 2" 6's Roll
6515-01-180-0467.......Airway, Nasopharyngeal, 28fr, 12s
6515-01-519-9161.......Glove, Patient Exam 100/Pkg (4ea)
6545-01-531-3647.......Pouch, IFAK
6545-01-531-3147.......Insert, IFAK (has folding panels, with cord attached)

USMC INDIVIDUAL FIRST AID KIT CONTENTS:
http://www.armyproperty.com/Equipment-Info/Pictures/USMC-IFAK.jpg
IFAK A1 Component Individual First Aid Kit - NSN 6545-01-539-2740 (includes the following items):
6510-01-499-9285.......3.5 oz. Quikclot Packet (1ea)
6515-01-542-7696TK4 Tourni-Kwik Self-Application Tourniquet 40" (2ea)
6510-01-540-6484......."H" Compression Bandage w/8" x 10" Ab Pad (2ea)
6510-01-503-2117.......Primed Compressed Gauze 4.5" x 4.1 yards (2ea)
8105-09-000-2725.......Pouch NSN (1ea)