PDA

View Full Version : Be careful of the traps if you are just beginning

MarshallDodge
03-03-09, 13:17
My wife and I started preparing a couple years ago and while I am not an expert, I can see where others could be lead astray.

My thoughts on the subject:

The KISS (Keep It Simple) principle is our motto.

Here are some things that I believe are "must haves" in the event of a collapse or emergency:

Water
Food
Shelter
Heat
Medicine
Defense

Store what you eat, and eat what you store. I hear of people going out and buying 10 cases of SPAM and I wonder what would happen if things collapsed. Are they really going to eat 10 cases of SPAM? Do they eat SPAM everyday? Some people have allergies to certain foods, whole wheat for an example, so before you purchase a truckload of items for your food storage, you should try the items and incorporate them into your daily diet.

A lot of us eat perishable items like milk, eggs, cheese, and stuff from the freezer. You may want to think again about these items being available when the power goes out. I am blessed to live in an area where I can have chickens and raise a garden. We have fresh eggs anytime we need them. My neighbors down the road have dairy cows so milk is not that far away. If you do not have access to these items then you need to plan accordingly.

Finally, don't purchase things out of fear. It's not time to spend your nest egg so that you can be fully prepared by next week. I know people that have been preparing for the end of the world since the 60's.

Start slow by putting together a 72 hour kit and build on it.

m4junkie
03-03-09, 13:46
Definitely good advice.

Thanks for posting this.

Vic303
03-03-09, 16:23