PDA

View Full Version : Pakistani .308 surplus.

UNIT 6639
12-15-06, 05:29
I picked up the last box VA arms had instock, I am just getting into precesion bolt action rifles so I am starting out with shooting the surplus stuff.

Anyway, I googled this ammo and saw a few threads saying this stuff is unsafe/ungood.

Va arms tends to NOT stock bad ammo so I assume its fine, they were out of the South African battle packs.

Do any of you guys use this stuff in your rifles, I know I am not the only guy that likes to plink on the cheap.

Robb, have you used any of this in your 700 or other .308 rifles you may have?

I am going to the range to break in my new to me Savage 10 so I will find out one way or the other how good this ammo is.

Anybody know how many grains the Pakistani .308 is, I dont see it on the box but google says the 1980's stuff is 147 grains, my scope was zeroed with 168 grain Black Hills so I am hoping I wont have any problems with its accuracy.

Would I have any problems shooting lighter bullets if my scope was zeroed with heavier loads?

Sorry for all the different questions, I am a newb to the precesion area. Thanks!

UNIT 6639
12-15-06, 05:53
Robb, I actually wanted to PM you with these questions, but I have been PM'ing you alot lately so I'm trying to give you a break, thanks for all your help :D

TOrrock
12-15-06, 07:16
I wil be the first to admit I might be wrong, but this is my personal view of surplus ammo.

I shoot a lot of surplus ammo in many calibers.

I will not shoot surplus ammo from a country that urinates in it's own drinking water........meaning no 3rd World surplus.

No Indian, Pakistani, Colombian, Chilean, etc......

They're production methods and their storage methods are such an unknown that I won't take the chance.

YMMV

nyeti
12-15-06, 21:21