PDA

View Full Version : Full size decisions

bkb0000
03-07-09, 17:10
Didn't find much info on the USP- the search engine excludes "USP" "HK" and ".45" as too common.

I used to pack a USP .45 full size as my EDC gun. i had to sell it years ago to make room for money on my person. i then went back to my para ordnance p12, which i sold about a year ago because it turned into an unreliable piece of crap and was just collecting dust. That was the last of my big guns, leaving me with j-frames and little BUGs like my keltec and beretta bobcat. i pack my taurus 85 now as an EDC, because i got lazy and only really carry about half the time now anyway.

now that business has expanded outside of my former AO, and I find myself on projects in ever more urban areas, i've decided its time to go back to a large frame auto. my choices are USP, glock 17 or 21SL, or an M&P 9mm (which i have zero experience or knowledge on).

the 9mm vs .45 debate doesn't factor in. i've always been a .45 guy, but i've decided once and for all that my stand is this: .45 is best, but 9mm equalizes in higher capacity. so caliber has little to do with what i get.

I'd basically settled on the 17 until i handled a 21SL at a gunshop the other day- the SL rocks. Then I got to thinking about my old USP and how it's basically the only full frame .45 i've ever shot close to decently- that was one smooth shooting gun. Looks like a guy can still get a slightly used model for under $700 with extra mags.

anyway, i guess the point of this thread is- I don't ever hear much about the USP around here... does the M4C congregation not like USPs? and, aside from comfort level, is there anything i should be taking into account when trying to decide between these 3(4) guns? They all seem to be comparatively priced, they all have good reps, and they all pack plenty of firepower. Is the answer as simple as "grab the first one you see a good deal on?"

trio
03-07-09, 17:52