PDA

View Full Version : Fall back position?

warrior9504
03-10-09, 20:22
So I am new to the whole preparedness thing. But as a new husband/father and ex-military I feel it is my job to "plan for the worst." I have started the basics, extra food in the house worked into our family meal plan, water storage, extra fuel, and of course guns and ammo :D. I still need some form of supplemental heat and elec.

But here is my current thought dilemma. At what point do we evac? If so where do we go? I would imagine where would likely depend on how bad things got. We live in a fairly suburban neighborhood (houses w/in 30 ft of ours) and close to some big urban areas in PA. I don't think I would leave the house unless things got pretty bad and in the event of total collapse I would try and evac to my parents home in the middle of the state (plenty of land, horses - a country boy will survive) but I would think that almost 2hr trip under normal travel conditions might be pretty hair under total collapse.

Does anyone have a fall back position? How do you decide to execute it? And how would you move out in the chaos (I'm guessing I can't just shoot everyone...at least the non-zombies).

Rider
03-10-09, 23:30
I have the same question and nearly the same background. 2 toddlers, live in southern suburb in an area with some ghettoes a few miles away but its a good neighborhood with solid gun owning neighbors and a nearby river/woodland. It seems like staying put with the kids and my food stash might be wiser then heading out. There are 4 LEO's and at least (the one's I know) 5 other 30 something fairly well armed Dad's within 2 blocks. I guess if we are talking about no more outside food production any more, raise your own animals, hunt and grow crops I would have to try to move the family but if its "just" a month of chaos after an attack forming a neighborhood defense patrol seems smarter. Scary times though.

williejc
03-11-09, 23:17