PDA

View Full Version : Looking to get back into a 1911 and need advice.

RyanS
06-24-06, 12:08
I'm torn between a Kimber Warrior and a 25th Anniversary. I'm not in LE so whatever I get it will be carried concealed. I've been able to find holsters from Bladetech and Comptac for the Warrior, but I'm concerned about what will possibly become "lugging" the Warrior around because of the added weight and width of the light rail. But I do like the idea of being able to attach a light if necessary. Would I be better off getting the Anniversary model and adding a Dawson rail and night sights? I want to get the best bang for my buck and I've been told that the Warrior is probably the best bang around.

I've got a bad habit of overthinking these things and I'm afraid I've gotten myself so far inside the forest that I can't see the trees. I have no experience with light railed 1911s so I'm asking for some advice. Am I making a big deal out of nothing. I do have a line on a 25th Anniversary, but with the demand for Series I Kimbers, it's a bit expensive.

Hobbes
06-24-06, 12:57
My thought is if you want to carry a full size 1911, the few added ounces of a light rail aren't really going to matter (that is if you feel you need a rail). I would really like to have a railed 1911 for HD, but don't see the need for CCW, unless you are trying t kill 2 birds with one 1911 (haha).

For me, a 1911 is great for packing out in the woods, but I prefer something much lighter for CCW.

M4arc
06-24-06, 13:00
Ryan,

I have a 25th Anniversary and I love it. I carry it from time to time (carry my G19 mostly) and it conceals very well and is very comfortable. When the 10-8 Kimber Series 1 group buy came up I almost jumped on it but decide my 25th was pretty much the same thing. Mine has a lot of rounds through it and as long as I maintain it she's stone-cold reliable.