PDA

View Full Version : Rucksacks

Outlander Systems
03-29-09, 20:20
What's everyone toting for a ruck?

I should point out that I have very little experience with "Civilian" rucks, whatsoever. I'd probably be likely to consider one if they came in colours other than "Brass Me! Red" or "Antiflage Queegy Blue". The colour schemes suck, the material is wafer-thin and begging to be ripped by any type of hard-use (10D Nylon anyone?), lack of external pockets, I could go on and on.

I'm probably going to upgrade from my frameless pack, to something a bit bigger, since without a frame, the weight tends to shift downward and rearward, regardless of how it's packed. It'll make a good day-hike bag, but for my extended backpacking and bugout needs, it ain't gonna cut the mustard.

I'm runnin' outta space - quick.

Gutshot John
03-29-09, 21:30
I've always been very partial to Kelty packs. I have an external frame that while obsolete is still in excellent shape despite nearly three decades of pretty significant use (boy scouts, hunting, extended camping, backpacked through Europe etc.). Aluminum frame, mesh backing, one large main compartment, two smaller pockets, maybe 3000CU.

I've recently upgraded to the "Trekker" but I've not used it anywhere near as hard nor as long but it's really nice and has place for hydration.

Kifaru seems to have a lot of admirers, but I think there are better ways to spend $500-700.

Avoid the ALICE pack as something akin to an Iron Maiden Torture device though there are upgrades available.

citizensoldier16
03-29-09, 22:06
+1 on Kelty. The North Face makes good stuff too. I have a few of their packs and bags. They're very rugged and come with a good warranty.

Outlander Systems
03-29-09, 23:09
-1 to the ALICE. I didn't enjoy it one bit.

Hayduke
03-30-09, 17:26
any of the older Dana Designs packs will have amazing durability and a strong frame for loads, Dana is now making packs again under the Mystery Ranch name and they are $$.