PDA

View Full Version : Magazine Well Hold

LOKNLOD
12-27-06, 07:25
Shooting from a mag well hold feels like writing with a pencil by holding the eraser. Every movement is a very course adjustment.

The mag well hold does work good if you were to be standing around pointing your rifle at something for a long time.

nyeti
12-31-06, 03:01
When I started shooting a bunch of 3 gun and combat rifle many years ago I did a bunch of unconventional (at the time) because I had no military experience. I used my magazine as a mono pod, I pulled my strong leg up shooting prone to raise my chest to breath easier, and when the VFG's first came out for the AR's, I ran it very far forward to better "drive" the gun. Great, won lots of matches, shot really well, etc.....

Fast forward a few years to when I could actually carry a Colt SMG/Ar-15 at work, and none had VFG's. I used the Mag well hold to pull the gun back to my shoulder like a VFG. It ran well using Harries with a flashlight (prior to actualy having lights mounted on the gun), and it was very fluid to manuver the gun around small indoor enviroments. I also found it much more relaxing and comfortable to carry and hold the gun in a low ready for hours on end during searches and static positions. So I essentially found that I liked the magwell stuff for running the gun in MY operational environment. With a dedicated VFG, I like somewhere close to the middle, or maybe slightly to the rear with a carbine length rail. I usually don't run a VFG on rifle length stuff, as I shoot those length guns for different purposes. I also found that my favorite gun for urban work is the Steryr AUG, which has a very compressed grip range.