PDA

View Full Version : which glock for 3 gun/ipsc/idpa?

Stretz Tactical Inc
03-31-09, 16:18
I am realativly new to competitiive shooting. I have shot in the Colt Cup twice years ago, the West Point 3 gun 2 years ago (and will be again in 3 weeks) as well as a local 3 gun law enforcement match. I have over 12 years law enforcement experience, numerous shooting schools, as well as 9 years prior service in the Army Reserve. I currently carry a Glock 22 on duty and a 23 and 26 off duty. I would like to get into more action shooting sports and because of my carry guns, I would like to stay with the glock platform. I was thinking glock 17, 17c, 17L or 34. Does anyone have any experience/recommendations with any of these models? Thanks

esskay
04-01-09, 02:50
Depends on what class you're intending to shoot, but likely a G34 or G35 would make you most competitive. G35 if you're shooting IPSC, G34 will be okay if you're just shooting outlaw type matches where they don't care about power factor.

Should add I don't shoot IDPA, so don't have feedback for you on that.

Robb Jensen
04-01-09, 04:49
If you need major power factor I'd recommend the Glock 35, if no power factor requirement then I recommend the Glock 17.

rob_s
04-01-09, 05:29
I've been shooting IDPA for 5+ years and the most common gun among our most serious competitors is the Glock 34. My visits to state matches over the years have supported this same trend.

ToddG
04-01-09, 10:00
I've been shooting IDPA for 5+ years and the most common gun among our most serious competitors is the Glock 34. My visits to state matches over the years have supported this same trend.

The G34 is probably the most ubiquitous pistol in IDPA, no question. However, having shot a few IDPA matches myself, I think you'll find that the majority of those G34 shooters bought it precisely because it was so popular as opposed to any real evaluation on their part.