PDA

View Full Version : Advice/opinion for AR upper receiver

UGA02
04-01-09, 19:15
I currently have a DPMS upper on a RRA two stage trigger lower. The upper does not have the deflector or forward assist. I am considering a new upper receiver with deflector and FA because I do not like how the brass ejects and basically ricochets off the receiver, leaving small marks (only shot about 120 rounds.) Although they are not scarring the receiver, I believe they eventually could. What is a quality receiver to get? Do I need to get one with M4 feedramps? Is it best to get RRA for compatibility? Will a better name brand upper receiver improve the overall quality of the gun? Accuracy? Some of the uppers I have looked at are:

RRA
BCM
Yankee Hill
Essential Arms
LaRue (pricey)
Vltor (pricey)
Bushmaster
I am a newbie, so I would appreciate any comments!

RD62
04-01-09, 19:39
I wouldn't worry too much about the brass marks. If you get an upper with a brass deflector, you'll just have brass marks on the deflector. I'm also wondering if you are talking about a complete upper with barrel, etc. or just the receiver. Either way they should all work with your RRA lower. I would lean toward the BCM, unless you are looking for a billet upper, and I'd go with the VLTOR, although both the BCM and VLTOR have been a little scarce. There is a reason they are in such demand.

-RD62

UGA02
04-01-09, 19:48
I wouldn't worry too much about the brass marks. If you get an upper with a brass deflector, you'll just have brass marks on the deflector. I'm also wondering if you are talking about a complete upper with barrel, etc. or just the receiver. Either way they should all work with your RRA lower. I would lean toward the BCM, unless you are looking for a billet upper, and I'd go with the VLTOR, although both the BCM and VLTOR have been a little scarce. There is a reason they are in such demand.

-RD62

Just the upper receiver. This seems like a good one?